Dodd Boulevard/New County Road 9 (179th Street)

Dakota County and the City of Lakeville are collaborating on planning and design efforts which will result in the reconstruction of Dodd Boulevard and construction of new County Road 9 (179th Street) in 2023 and 2024. The two projects are the culmination of many years of planning and design efforts. A number of substantial studies and projects have occurred with the end result of the Dodd Boulevard improvements and the new County Road 9 (179th Street) realignment in mind. See the Project Documents page on the project website for a list of these studies and projects.

The project schedules have been revised for these construction projects, as outlined on the project timeline below.

Proposed Improvements and Objectives

  • Promote active public participation and community pride, by learning the public’s views, perspectives and preferences for the corridors.
  • Meet the long-term multi-modal needs of the County and City, while improving safety and mobility along the corridor for all users.
  • Improve east-west access throughout southern Dakota County between the Cities of Lakeville and Farmington.

Project Timeline

  • December 2022 - Open House: Share project updates, including modifications to construction year and final roadway designs
  • 2023: Phase 1 Construction – New County Road 9 (179th Street) between Hayes Avenue and Cedar Avenue

    The roadway and utility construction is scheduled to begin April 10, 2023. Dakota County is currently planning an open house to be held in March 2023 in advance of the construction. More information regarding construction schedule and open house dates will be shared with the community when available.

    For more information and to sign up to receive project updates, visit the project website or send an email to Dakota County.

  • 2024: Phase 2 Construction – Dodd Boulevard between Cedar Avenue and Pilot Knob Road

For more information and to sign up to receive project updates, visit the project website or send an email to Dakota County.